Local Elections 2022: Which councils have changed hands?

6 May 2022, 08:44 | Updated: 7 May 2022, 08:18

People headed out to vote on Thursday in the local elections.
People headed out to vote on Thursday in the local elections. Picture: Alamy

By Sophie Barnett

A number of councils have changed hands across the UK in the 2022 local elections, with many Tory strongholds being captured by Labour.

Listen to this article

Loading audio...

Around a third of councils declared results overnight, with the rest - including all authorities in Scotland and Wales - later on Friday.

The Conservatives have suffered setbacks across England, with Labour further strengthening its grip on the capital and securing 'true blue' seats.

Thatcher's favourite Tory authority in Wandsworth has been taken by Labour, along with Westminster for the first time since its creation in 1964.

While Labour enjoyed success in London, there was a mixed picture elsewhere.

Read more: Local elections 2022 live: Westminster, Wandsworth and Barnet all fall to Labour

Read more: Labour captures Westminster and 'jewel in the Tory crown' Wandsworth in blow to Boris

Here are the results so far:

Adur - Conservative hold

Amber Valley - Conservative hold

Barking and Dagenham - Labour hold

Barnet – Labour gain from Conservatives

Barnsley - Labour hold

Basildon - Conservative hold

Basingstoke and Deane - Conservative hold

Bexley - Conservative hold

Birmingham - Labour hold

Blackburn with Darwen - Labour hold

Bolton - remains NOC

Bradford - Labour hold

Brent – Labour hold

Brentwood - Conservative hold

Bromley - Conservative hold

Broxbourne - Conservative hold

Burnley - remains NOC

Bury - Labour hold

Calderdale - Labour hold

Cambridge - Labour hold

Camden – Labour hold

Cannock Chase - Conservative hold

Castle Point – Independent gain from Conservatives

Cheltenham - Lib Dem hold

Cherwell - Conservative hold

Chorley - Labour hold

Colchester - remains NOC

Coventry - Labour hold

Crawley - remains NOC

Croydon -

Cumberland - Labour gain from NOC

Derby - remains NOC

Dudley - Conservative hold

Ealing - Labour hold

Eastleigh - Lib Dem hold

Elmbridge - Remains NOC

Enfield – Labour hold

Epping Forest - Conservative hold

Exeter - Labour hold

Fareham - Conservative hold

Gateshead – Labour hold

Gosport - Lib Dem gain from Conservatives

Greenwich - Labour hold

Hackney - Labour hold

Halton - Labour hold

Hammersmith & Fulham – Labour hold

Haringey - Labour hold

Harlow - Conservative hold

Harrow - Conservative gain from Labour

Hart - remains NOC

Hartlepool - remains NOC

Hastings - Labour lose to NOC

Havant - Conservative hold

Havering - Remains NOC

Hillingdon - Conservative hold

Hounslow – Labour hold

Huntingdonshire - Conservative lose to NOC

Hyndburn - Labour lose to NOC

Ipswich - Labour hold

Islington - Labour hold

Kensington & Chelsea – Conservative hold

Kingston-upon-Hull - Lib Dem gain from Labour

Kingston-upon-Thames - Lib Dem hold

Kirklees - Labour gain

Knowsley – Labour hold

Lambeth - Labour hold

Leeds - Labour hold

Lewisham - Labour hold

Lincoln - Labour hold

Maidstone – Conservatives lose to NOC

Manchester - Labour hold

Merton - Labour hold

Milton Keynes - Remains NOC

Mole Valley - Lib Dem hold

Newcastle-under-Lyme - Conservative hold

Newcastle-upon-Tyne - Labour hold

North East Lincolnshire - Conservative hold

North Hertfordshire - Remains NOC

North Tyneside - Labour hold

North Yorkshire - Conservative hold

Norwich - Labour hold

Nuneaton & Bedworth - Conservative hold

Oldham - Labour hold

Oxford – Labour hold

Pendle - Conservative hold

Peterborough - remains NOC

Plymouth - remains NOC

Portsmouth - remains NOC

Preston - Labour hold

Reading - Labour hold

Redbridge – Labour hold

Redditch - Conservative hold

Reigate & Banstead - Conservative hold

Richmond-upon-Thames – Liberal Democrats hold

Rochdale - Labour hold

Rochford - Conservative hold

Rossendale – Labour gain from NOC

Rugby - Conservative hold

Runnymede - Conservative hold

Rushmoor - Conservative hold

Salford - Labour hold

Sandwell - Labour hold

Sefton - Labour hold

Sheffield - remains NOC

Slough - Labour hold

Solihull – Conservative hold

Somerset - Lib Dem gain

South Cambridgeshire - Lib Dem hold

South Tyneside - Labour hold

Southampton - Labour gain from Conservatives

Southend-on-Sea – remains NOC

Southwark – Labour hold

St Albans - Lib Dem hold

St Helens - Labour hold

Stevenage - Labour hold

Stockport - remains NOC

Sunderland - Labour hold

Sutton – Lib Dems hold

Swindon – Conservative hold

Tameside - Labour hold

Tamworth - Conservative hold

Tandridge - remains NOC

Three Rivers - Lib Dem hold

Thurrock - Conservative hold

Trafford - Labour hold

Tunbridge Wells - Remains NOC

Wakefield - Labour hold

Walsall - Conservative hold

Waltham Forest - Labour hold

Wandsworth - Labour gain from Conservative

Watford - Lib Dem hold

Welwyn Hatfield – Conservative hold

West Lancashire - Remains NOC

West Oxfordshire – Conservatives lose to NOC

Westminster – Labour gain from Conservatives

Westmorland & Furness - Lib Dem gain

Wigan - Labour hold

Winchester - Lib Dem hold

Wirral - remains NOC

Woking - Lib Dem gain

Wokingham - Conservatives lose to NOC

Wolverhampton - Labour hold

Worcester - Conservatives lose to NOC

Worthing - Labour gain

Follow the latest updates on LBC's liveblog.