Denmark, Iceland, Slovakia and Curacao added to UK's quarantine list

24 September 2020, 17:07 | Updated: 24 September 2020, 20:45

Denmark has been added to the UK's quarantine list
Denmark has been added to the UK's quarantine list. Picture: PA

By Kate Buck

Denmark, Iceland, Slovakia and Curacao have all been added to the UK's quarantine list, it has been confirmed.

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps confirmed the news on Twitter, shortly before Scottish authorities also confirmed the decision.

The Scottish Government said the move followed significant increases in coronavirus cases in these countries.

Mr Shapps said: "Data shows we need to remove DENMARK, SLOVAKIA, ICELAND, and CURACAO from the Travel Corridor list. If you arrive in the UK from these destinations after 4am this Saturday, you will need to self-isolate for 14 days.

"We will not be adding any destinations to the Travel Corridor list this week. Remember: You MUST complete a Passenger Locator Form by law if you enter the UK. This protects public health and ensures those who need to are complying with self-isolation rules.

"Also please don't forget that you MUST self-isolate (quarantine) when returning from a non-exempt country, or face fines which start at £1,000."

Read more: UK records 6,634 new coronavirus cases in highest ever single-day rise

Read more: Ben Kentish: Questions remain over whether Rishi Sunak's measures are enough

Scotland and Wales have also removed Denmark, Iceland, Slovakia and Curacao from their quarantine exemption lists.

Welsh health minister Vaughan Gething has said it means people travelling into Wales from the four countries must quarantine for 14 days if they arrive in the UK after 4am on Saturday.

The changes mirror those announced for England, while further amendments to Wales' travel regulations will soon include exemptions for elite sports people and staff attending sporting events.

Mr Gething said in a statement: "Today I reviewed the latest JBC assessments and I have decided that Curacao, Denmark, Iceland and Slovakia will be removed from the list of exempt countries and territories.

"The Welsh Government intends to further amend the regulations by adding new sectoral exemptions for elite sports people and support staff including medical teams. Events will be added to the list of specified sporting events.

"Tomorrow I will lay the necessary regulations which will come into force at 4am on Saturday 26 September."

Scottish Justice Secretary Humza Yousaf said: "Putting in place quarantine requirements on those arriving in the UK from various parts of the world is a key line of defence in our efforts to suppress the spread of the virus.

"Managing the risk of importing cases from communities with high risks of transmission is vital in our efforts to do this.

"The advice remains that people should think very hard before committing to non-essential travel abroad.

"We are in the midst of a global pandemic and the situation in many countries can change suddenly."