Covid lockdown postcode checker: Check your area's coronavirus alert level and tier restrictions

17 December 2020, 13:07 | Updated: 7 June 2023, 08:56

Boris Johnson has confirmed England will be divided into three tiers to beat coronavirus
Boris Johnson will be placing more England areas into stricter tiers following lockdown. Picture: PA

By Zoe Adams

What tier am I in? How do I check my postcode for the coronavirus rules and restrictions? Here's how to find out your local area's covid tier by using your postcode.

More areas in England will be plunged into Tier 3 Covid-19 restrictions from Saturday as Matt Hancock warned "we've come so far, we mustn't blow it now."

From one minute past midnight on Saturday, Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Berkshire, Peterborough, Surrey (with the exception of Waverley), Hastings and Rother on the Kent border of East Sussex, and Portsmouth, Gosport and Havant in Hampshire, will all be in Tier 3.

The Health Secretary also announced that some areas would be moving down a tier, with Bristol and North Somerset moving from Tier 3 to Tier 2 and Herefordshire moving from Tier 2 to Tier 1.

Read more: Tier 3 rules and restrictions: Are non-essential shops open? Can you go abroad?

Read more: What are the new rules for pubs and restaurants?

So how do you find out your area's coronavirus alert level and what tier you're in? What are the local lockdown restrictions where you live? Here’s what you need to know about the local lockdown postcode checker.

What you need to know about new coronavirus tier restrictions

What tier is my area in? How do I check my postcode?

The Government has officially released their website that will allow you to check the tier your area is in. Head to to find out your alert level and the exact rules and restrictions.

Not only will the website confirm you area name, it will also let you know your area's status, whether non-essential shops are open and the latest guidelines around pubs, restaurants and gyms.

It will also outline your social distancing guidelines, including the rule of six and mixing households both indoors and outdoors.

You can also head over to your local council’s website who will also let you know the restrictions in your area and what rules are in place.

New Covid restrictions: Who is in what tier and what does it mean?

Which areas are in Tier 1 restrictions?

South East

- Isle of Wight

South West

- Cornwall

- Isles of Scilly

Which areas are in Tier 2 restrictions?

North West

- Cumbria

- Liverpool City Region

- Warrington and Cheshire


- York

- North Yorkshire

West Midlands

- Worcestershire

- Herefordshire

- Shropshire and Telford & Wrekin

East Midlands

- Rutland

- Northamptonshire

East of England

- Suffolk

- Hertfordshire

- Cambridgeshire, including Peterborough

- Norfolk

- Essex, Thurrock and Southend on Sea

- Bedfordshire and Milton Keynes


- all 32 boroughs plus the City of London

South East

- East Sussex

- West Sussex

- Brighton and Hove

- Surrey

- Reading

- Wokingham

- Bracknell Forest

- Windsor and Maidenhead

- West Berkshire

- Hampshire (except the Isle of Wight)

- Portsmouth and Southampton

- Buckinghamshire

- Oxfordshire

South West

- South Somerset, Somerset West and Taunton, Mendip and Sedgemoor

- Bath and North East Somerset

- Dorset

- Bournemouth

- Christchurch

- Poole

- Gloucestershire

- Wiltshire and SwindonDevon

Which areas are in Tier 3 restrictions?

North East

- Tees Valley Combined Authority:

- Hartlepool

- Middlesbrough

- Stockton-on-Tees

- Redcar and Cleveland

- Darlington

North East Combined Authority:

- Sunderland

- South Tyneside

- Gateshead

- Newcastle upon Tyne

- North Tyneside

- County Durham

- Northumberland

North West

- Greater Manchester

- Lancashire

- Blackpool

- Blackburn with Darwen

Yorkshire and The Humber

- The Humber

- West Yorkshire

- South Yorkshire

West Midlands

- Birmingham and Black Country

- Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent

- Warwickshire, Coventry and Solihull

East Midlands

- Derby and Derbyshire

- Nottingham and Nottinghamshire

- Leicester and Leicestershire

- Lincolnshire

South East

- Slough (remainder of Berkshire is tier 2: High alert)

- Kent and Medway

South West

- Bristol

- South Gloucestershire

- North Somerset