Coronavirus lockdown: What are tier 2 rules and restrictions and what areas are in it?

26 November 2020, 17:30

By Zoe Adams

Which areas are in tier 2 of the new coronavirus alert system? And what are the rules and restrictions of level 2? Here’s what you need to know including what's happening with social distancing, pubs and restaurants.

England will be heading back into a stricter and tougher tier system once lockdown 2 ends in England, it’s been confirmed by Boris Johnson.

It’s also been revealed more areas and regions in the UK will be following the tougher coronavirus rules as set out by the tiers then there were before, in order to keep the spread of the virus to a minimum.

With more places expected to land in tier 2 of the coronavirus alert system, also known as a high level alert area, there are a set of new, tough rules to follow.

Coronavirus lockdown: What are tier 3 rules and restrictions and what areas are in it?

Read more: What are the new rules for pubs and restaurants?

So what are the tier 2 restrictions? What areas are in the high level tier? And what’s happening with pubs, gyms and shops? Here are the details:

What are the tier 2, ‘high level’ rules and restrictions?

If your area falls under this Covid alert level you will be faced with a number of rules and restrictions.

These include no mixing between households or support bubbles, continuing to follow the rule of six when socialising outside and those that can work from home, should continue to do so.

Travel is permitted to tier 1 and other tier 2 areas, overnight hotel stays are allowed and weddings and funerals can go ahead as long as the Covid regulations are followed.

What is happening with pubs, shops and gyms in tier 2?

Pubs and bars can open as long as a main meal is being purchased, not just drinking. You will also need to remain in your support bubble or household. All shops and indoor entertain can also reopen as well as gyms.

What areas are in tier 2 of of the lockdown alert system?

North West

- Cumbria

- Liverpool City Region

- Warrington and Cheshire


- York

- North Yorkshire

West Midlands

- Worcestershire

- Herefordshire

- Shropshire and Telford & Wrekin

East Midlands

- Rutland

- Northamptonshire

East of England

- Suffolk

- Hertfordshire

- Cambridgeshire, including Peterborough

- Norfolk

- Essex, Thurrock and Southend on Sea

- Bedfordshire and Milton Keynes


- all 32 boroughs plus the City of London

South East

- East Sussex

- West Sussex

- Brighton and Hove

- Surrey

- Reading

- Wokingham

- Bracknell Forest

- Windsor and Maidenhead

- West Berkshire

- Hampshire (except the Isle of Wight)

- Portsmouth and Southampton

- Buckinghamshire

- Oxfordshire

South West

- South Somerset, Somerset West and Taunton, Mendip and Sedgemoor

- Bath and North East Somerset

- Dorset

- Bournemouth

- Christchurch

- Poole

- Gloucestershire

- Wiltshire and Swindon

- Devon

You can also check your postcode in the lockdown postcode checker or check your local council’s website.