Philippines, Pakistan, Kenya, and Bangladesh added to UK hotel quarantine list

2 April 2021, 10:28 | Updated: 2 April 2021, 13:59

More countries have been added the to the UK  red list
More countries have been added the to the UK red list. Picture: PA

By Kate Buck

The Philippines, Pakistan, Kenya, and Bangladesh have all been added to the UK's red travel list, meaning anyone returning from there will need to isolate in a hotel.

The measures will come into force from 9 April, and takes takes the total number of countries on England's red list to 38.

A statement from the Government said: "With over 30 million vaccinations delivered in the UK so far, the additional restrictions will help to reduce the risk of new variants – such as those first identified in South Africa (SA) and Brazil – entering England. 

Read more: Foreign holiday hotspots 'to be graded under traffic light system'

"So far, surveillance has found that few cases of the SA variant have been identified as being imported from Europe, with most coming from other parts of the world."

It means passengers arriving from or who have transited through these countries will be banned from entering unless they are a British or Irish national or are a resident in the UK.

Those returning home to England will be required to quarantine in a Government-approved hotel for 10 days, and must take a Covid-19 test on day two and day eight of their self-isolation.

Arrivals will not be allowed to shorten their quarantine period regardless of their test results, and will also not be able to end it early through the Test to Release scheme.

Commuters scramble to board public transportation home minutes before a 8pm-4am curfew takes effect in Kenya
Commuters scramble to board public transportation home minutes before a 8pm-4am curfew takes effect in Kenya. Picture: PA

The news comes as it was reported foreign getaway destinations will be ranked under a traffic light system, with fewer restrictions tied to the places boasting the lowest coronavirus rates and high vaccination take-up.

Countries will be graded either green, amber or red, according to how well they are coping with the pandemic, it was claimed.

Hesitancy towards the vaccine across parts of mainland Europe may mean that favoured continental destinations among British holidaymakers are deemed more high-risk than the likes of the US and Israel, where vaccination rates are good.

Overseas holidays are currently banned due to the UK's coronavirus lockdown measures, but Boris Johnson plans to make an announcement on Easter Monday about lifting restrictions in England.

The countries currently on the red list:

- Americas

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela.

- Asia

Bangladesh, Pakistan and the Philippines - all three will be added to the red list as of 4am on 9 April.

- Middle East

Oman, Qatar and the United Arab Emirates.

- Africa

Angola, Botswana, Burundi, Cape Verde, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Eswatini, Ethiopia, French Guiana, Guyana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, the Seychelles, Somalia, South Africa, Suriname, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.