UK travel update: Covid advice relaxed for another 51 countries

8 October 2021, 17:55

The rules have relaxed for another 51 countries.
The rules have relaxed for another 51 countries. Picture: Alamy

By Sophie Barnett

The Foreign Office is lifting its advice against non-essential travel for a further 51 holiday destinations.

The Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) will lift its "all but essential travel" advice for the Bahamas, Cameroon, Cote d'Ivoire, Jamaica, Martinique, Palau, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan and Western Sahara on Friday

The newly appointed Foreign Secretary Liz Truss said the decision allows people to "exercise personal responsibility".

Advice for a further 42 ex-red list locations will be lifted on Monday, including Argentina, Chile, Cuba, Indonesia, Mexico, the Seychelles, South Africa and Thailand.

The easing of the rules follows the removal of travel advisories to 32 countries on Wednesday.

Ms Truss said: "These updates make travel abroad easier - boosting trade, tourism and reuniting friends and families.

"I am delighted that the safe reopening of travel allows people to exercise personal responsibility and visit more destinations across the globe."

Read more: Travel update: Red list slashed to just seven countries

Read more: Travel rules explained: Which countries are on the red list and when will PCR tests end?

Grant Shapps reacts after red travel list cut

The announcement comes just days before England's red list will be slashed to just seven countries.

It was announced on Thursday that 47 countries such as South Africa, Mexico and Thailand will be removed from the red list from 4am on Monday.

That means people will be able to arrive in England from those locations without spending 11 nights in a quarantine hotel at a cost of £2,285 for solo travellers.

The seven countries that will remain on the red list include Colombia, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Haiti, Panama, Peru and Venezuela.

The Government also announced that the inbound vaccinated arrivals system would be extended to a further 37 countries and territories including India, South Africa and Turkey, meaning eligible passengers arriving from rest of world countries will only need to take a day two test in England.

Day two tests are set to be switched from PCR to lateral flow later this month as well, but no date has been set.

The Government said its "ambition" is for this to be in place "for people returning from half-term breaks by the end of the month".

More Latest News

See more More Latest News

David Cameron and Nigel Farage

David Cameron says Nigel Farage is trying to destroy the Conservative Party through Reform UK

Kevin Campbell has died

Arsenal and Everton footballer Kevin Campbell dies aged 54

Kate and Charles have both arrived for the Trooping the Colour ceremony

Kate seen for first time in public since cancer diagnosis at Trooping the Colour, as King receives salute

Millwall's Matija Sarkic died

Millwall goalkeeper Matija Sarkic dies aged 26, as club 'completely devastated'

Muslim pilgrims standing at the top of the rocky hill known as the Mountain of Mercy

Muslim pilgrims converge at Mount Arafat for worship as Hajj reaches its peak

Bob Bell confronted the robber

'Hero' shop worker jumps in to grab gun-toting robber threatening colleague, as mother-in-law praises 'lovely boy'

Ukraine’s President Volodymyr Zelensky, arrives at Zurich airport in Switzerland

World leaders to meet at Swiss resort on possible Ukraine peace roadmap

David Cameron has warned that Nigel Farage is trying to destroy the Conservative party

General Election LIVE: Cameron warns Farage is 'trying to destroy the Conservatives', as Labour tackles NHS

The coach of one of the boys said he was 'not a monster'

'He's not a monster - he just didn't have the right role models,' claims boxing coach of 12-year-old machete murderer

Wayne Lineker was punched

Wayne Lineker's 'own brand of excess and drunkenness' to blame for attack that saw him knocked out, politician says

Alan Bates, Imelda Staunton and Tracey Emin were given honours in the birthday list

Post Office campaigner Alan Bates knighted in Birthday Honours, as Imelda Staunton and Tracey Emin made dames


Domestic abuse cases during Euros ‘could double’ as police seek to understand link between football and violence

Three drones have been seized by Merseyside Police after they were flown over Taylor Swift's concert in Liverpool's Anfield Stadium

Three drones seized after being flown over Taylor Swift's concerts at Liverpool's Anfield Stadium

Alex Jones speaking to the media after arriving at court in Houston, Texas, for a hearing in front of a bankruptcy judge on Friday

Judge rules Alex Jones’ assets to be sold to help pay Sandy Hook debt

South African president Cyril Ramaphosa raises his hands in parliament after being re-elected for a second term

Cyril Ramaphosa re-elected as South African president for second term after deal

Co-founder of Ozy Media, Carlos Watson arrives at Brooklyn Federal Court, for an earlier hearing

Google chief gives evidence at fraud trial of Ozy Media founder