Ibiza, Majorca and Malta added to England's travel green list

24 June 2021, 19:34 | Updated: 24 June 2021, 23:34

Malta, Madeira and Balearics among additions to travel green list

By Kate Buck

Ibiza, Majorca, Malta and some Caribbean countries are among the popular holiday destinations to have been added to England's green travel list.

From 4am on 30 June, people travelling to those tourist hotspots will no longer have to quarantine upon return to England, Transport Secretary Grant Shapps announced.

It means they join the following countries on the green list: Australia, Brunei, Falkland Islands, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Iceland, New Zealand, Singapore, South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands, St Helena, Ascension, Tristan da Cunha. Meanwhile, Israel and Jerusalem have been added to the greenwatch list, meaning they could be moved to amber.

The full list of countries being added is as follows: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, the Balearic Islands, Barbados, Bermuda, British Antarctic Territory, British Indian Ocean Territory, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Madeira, Malta, Montserrat, Pitcairn Islands and Turks and Caicos Islands.

Explained: UK travel list update: Which countries are now on the green list?

Read more: Merkel's call for Brit travellers to quarantine in EU is 'unjustified' - minister

England's green travel list has been updated to include Ibiza, Majorca and Malta
England's green travel list has been updated to include Ibiza, Majorca and Malta. Picture: PA

The news comes after Boris Johnson said there exists a "real opportunity to open up travel" this summer for those who have two doses of the coronavirus jab.

Meanwhile, Tunisia is among the popular destinations being added to the red list, along with the Dominican Republic, Eritrea, Haiti, Mongolia and Uganda.

Asked about German Chancellor Angela Merkel saying the Delta variant meant there should be more restrictions on British travellers going abroad, the Prime Minister said: "I think that the real opportunity we all have now is to open up travel through the double jab.

"If you look at it we've got more than 60% of our population have now had two jabs, I think 83% have had one jab, we're really getting through it now. The crucial thing is come forward and get your second jab."

Northern Ireland's government appeared to leak the list earlier on Thursday after updating its own green travel list before Mr Shapps' announcement. Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales have made the same changes to their lists.

However, Ms Merkel is leading calls to make all UK travellers enter quarantine when they arrive in the EU due to concerns about the Delta variant.

But Environment Secretary George Eustice told LBC this morning that this measure is "unjustified".

He told Nick Ferrari: "Each country is taking their own decisions on this and so it will be for them to judge what approach they want to take.

"I'm not sure that such an approach would be justified given the highly advanced stage we are currently at now in terms of vaccination, with 80% having had one jab and now 60% having had the second jab.

Read more: Experts are 'scratching their head' to understand traffic light system, says pilot union boss

Read more: Vaccines and testing could replace travel quarantine, Hancock tells LBC

Eustice: Angela Merkel's call for EU quarantine on Brits 'unjustified'

"So I don't think such a move would be justified but obviously it's for individual countries to make these judgments."

A traffic light system determines whether passengers have to quarantine when returning from a trip overseas.

The Government says it uses factors including the percentage of the population that has been vaccinated, infections rates and the prevalence of variants of concern to determine where a country is ranked.

Travellers returning from green list countries have to take a pre-departure Covid test and a PCR test on or before day two of their arrival but do not have to quarantine if they are negative.

People coming from amber countries have to take a test before departure, quarantine for 10 days and take a PCR test on days two and eight, with the possibility of leaving isolation early.

More Latest News

See more More Latest News

The Israeli Iron Dome air defence system launches to intercept missiles fired from Iran

Israel hails ‘success’ in blocking Iran’s unprecedented attack

Disability advocate Charlotte Anderson advises people on how to apply for PIP.

YouTuber who fills out PIP applications for £650 each says she has ‘only ever lost one claim in six years’

Planning documents show the owners of the pub want to rebuild it in a new location.

Owners of Crooked House agree to rebuild ‘Britain’s wonkiest pub’ - providing it's in a new location

Joe Biden has reaffirmed the US's commitment to defending Israel's security.

Biden reaffirms ‘ironclad support' of Israel as he plans G7 meeting to coordinate ‘diplomatic response to Iran attack’

The IDF said over 300 weapons were fired by Iran.

‘Together we will win’: Netanyahu vows to fight off attacks from Iran after over 300 drones and missiles fired at Israel

Israeli's military have fought off a massive Iranian drone and missile attack - downing more than 200 weapons launched by the hostile state with the help of ace RAF pilots.

Israel fights off massive Iran attack - downing over 200 missiles and drones with help of RAF

Plans have been drawn up for an evacuation of Brits from the Middle East. Defence Secretary Grant Shapps (l) and protesters outside the British Embassy in Tehran (r)

Brits living in the Middle East could be rescued by the Royal Marines in 'Dunkirk-style' evacuation

The knifeman who killed six people in a rampage at a Sydney shopping centre has been named as 40-year-old Joel Cauchi (left)

Pictured: Sydney knifeman, 40, who killed six people before being shot dead by brave policewoman

Iranian drones and missiles have arrived in Israel with explosions in the skies - as officials warn of a "significant response" to the massive attack.

Explosions in skies and sirens across Jerusalem amid Iranian attack - as Israel warns of 'significant response'

USS Bataan which is heading to the Eastern Mediterranean (main) and Joe Biden (r)

US sends amphibious warship and 2,500 Marines into the Eastern Mediterranean after Iran attacks Israel

US and UK forces are helping defend Israel from Iranian drones and missiles after a massive attack was launched.

British and American jets 'shoot down Iranian drones' as Rishi Sunak slams Iran for 'reckless' attack against Israel

President Biden is holding an emergency national security meeting as the US prepares its response to Iran's drone and missile attack on Israel.

President Biden holds high-stakes emergency meeting as Iran launches full-scale attack on Israel

Iron Dome Rocket Interceptions of Hamas Rockets- Southern Israel- Night Attack On Ashdod City

Israel closes airspace as it braces for Iranian drone attack

Iranian attack drones are 'en route to Israel', according to an Israeli Defence Force spokesperson.

Iran launches massive drone and missile attack on Israel as war in Middle East escalates

A mother who was stabbed while trying to defend her baby from the Sydney shopping centre knifeman has been pictured for the first time.

Pictured: Mother, 38, killed defending her baby from Sydney shopping centre massacre

Nearly 18,000 police officers were hired virtually by forces, prompting fears of another Wayne Couzens, LBC can reveal.

Nearly 18,000 police officers hired without face-to-face interviews by forces prompting fears of new Wayne Couzens