Elections 2021: Key moments across UK as Sadiq Khan is re-elected London Mayor

9 May 2021, 21:10 | Updated: 9 May 2021, 23:33

Staff counting votes for the Scottish Parliamentary election
Staff counting votes for the Scottish Parliamentary election. Picture: PA
Nick Hardinges

By Nick Hardinges

More results from Super Thursday's elections came on over the weekend as Sadiq Khan won re-election as Mayor of London.

Sir Keir Starmer said he was "bitterly disappointed" following Friday's counts which saw his party lose the Hartlepool by-election, with the Tories winning the almost 50-year "red-wall" seat with a strong majority.

Angela Rayner has been removed from her post as chairwoman of the Labour Party as the fallout from the electoral drubbing continued, but has since been appointed Shadow Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster and Shadow First Secretary.

Mr Khan beat Conservative contender Shaun Bailey but the result was closer than had previously been predicted.

Andy Burnham was reelected as Mayor of Greater Manchester, as had been expected, while Andy Street and Marvin Rees retained their mayoralties in the West Midlands and Bristol respectively.

Mr Burnham said his vote sent a message to Westminster that people in England want devolution while Mr Street said: "Simply thank you. I will do everything I can to repay the trust and confidence given to me by the people of our great region."

Labour's Tracy Brabin was elected West Yorkshire mayor, triggering a by-election in her Commons constituency of Batley and Spen.

Elections 2021: Sir Keir Starmer 'bitterly disappointed' as Labour suffers defeats

Watch: Labour need a 'snarling arrogant brawler' to take on Johnson, caller says

Starmer vows to do ‘whatever is necessary’ after Hartlepool defeat

But Labour has lost control of Sheffield City Council, and saw their candidate for Tees Valley mayor thrashed by Tory Ben Houchen, who took almost 73 per cent of the vote.

Meanwhile, Boris Johnson hailed the "very encouraging set of results so far" after the Conservatives took full control of councils in Northumberland in the North East, Dudley in the Midlands and Harlow in Essex.

The SNP failed to secure a majority in Scotland while Labour's victory in Wales was confirmed, with the party winning 30 out of 60 Senedd seats.

It means Labour will stay in power in Wales.

Leader Mark Drakeford, who extended the majority in his seat, vowed to form a "stable and progressive" government after matching his party's best-ever Senedd election result.

Analysis: Theo Usherwood - where does Sir Keir Starmer go from here?

Watch: 'Labour is the problem not Keir', says MP Steve Reed after 'shattering' result

Boris Johnson hails 'encouraging' election results

Here are some of the main results:

  • The Conservatives won the Hartlepool by-election, with Jill Mortimer seizing the seat from Labour with a majority of 6,940
  • Sadiq Khan was re-elected Mayor of London
  • Tory Andy Street was re-elected as West Midlands Mayor
  • Labour's Andy Burnham was re-elected Greater Manchester Mayor and likewise Marvin Rees in Bristol
  • Tory Ben Houchen was re-elected as Tees Valley mayor by a landslide on the first count, taking almost 73 per cent of the vote
  • Labour's Ros Jones was re-elected Doncaster mayor while Joanne Anderson became Liverpool's first black female mayor
  • Elsewhere on Merseyside, Labour's Steve Rotherham comfortably won a second term as Liverpool City Region Mayor
  • Tracy Brabin was elected Mayor of West Yorkshire, triggering a by-election in Batley and Spen for Parliament
  • With results available from all 143 English councils holding votes, the Conservatives had a net gain of 12 authorities and 290 seats, and Labour a net loss of eight authorities and 264 seats
  • In Scotland, the SNP failed to form a majority despite finishing as clearly the largest party
  • After all 129 results in the Scottish Parliamentary contest, 64 seats went to the SNP, 31 to the Tories, 22 to Labour, eight to the Greens and four to the Liberal Democrats
  • In Wales, Labour held on to power after winning 30 seats, the Conservatives had 16, Plaid Cymru had 13 and the Liberal Democrats had one

More Latest News

See more More Latest News

Barclays is closing more branches

Barclays to close 18 more branches as 'shift from high street' continues - is your local affected?

Kenya Cult Leader

Kenyan cult leader sentenced to 18 months for film violations

Rishi Sunak has said he should not be judged for how long he spent at Cop28

Judge me on results, not for how long I was at Cop28, pleads Rishi Sunak - after spending just 12 hours at climate talks

Israel-Hamas conflict

Met has ‘locally led’ London policing plan for expected pro-Palestine protests

Brigit Forsyth has died.

Still Open All Hours and Likely Lads star Brigit Forsyth dies aged 83

Matt Hancock bizarrely declared Joe Anderson had died

Ex-Liverpool mayor Joe Anderson says he is still alive after Matt Hancock bizarrely announces his death in Covid Inquiry

Jussie Smollett

Appeal court affirms actor Jussie Smollett’s convictions and jail sentence

A caller to James O’Brien’s programme has shared footage of the extraordinary destruction done to his newly purchased property just outside of Durham.

Property investor's shock at 'unexplainable level of damage' he discovered after buying new home

Charles's tie featured a display very similar to the Greek flag

King Charles wears tie 'with Greek flags' in pattern as he meets Sunak after row over Elgin Marbles

Belton house, Grantham a National Trust property.

Man, 29, arrested on suspicion of murder at National Trust country house where Bridgerton was filmed

Grand Theft Auto 6 has been announced by Rockstar Games.

Gamers in meltdown as Grand Theft Auto 6 trailer release date announced by Rockstar

General view of the UKFast Campus factory in Birley Fields, Manchester, as the company's multi-millionaire boss has been jailed for sexual harassment and bullying allegations had been facing pressure from his customers

Tech multi-millionaire who drugged and raped women jailed for 15 years

Benjamin Netanyahu insists the country will "liquidate Hamas"

'Hamas will now take the mother of all thumpings' for not releasing all kidnapped women, says Israel

Felicity Huffman - pictured right with husband William H. Macy - served 11 days in prison and was forced to pay $30,000 for her involvement in the college admissions scandal

Felicity Huffman breaks silence on college admissions scandal after prison sentence for bribing daughter's way into college

APTOPIX The AP Interview Zelenskyy

Ukrainian special forces ‘bomb two Russian trains on Siberian railway’

Havering Council has scrapped the Hanukkah plans

Havering council u-turns on plans to scrap installation of Hanukkah menorah after sparking fury among locals