Tory troubles for Boris: MP becomes number 28 to publicly call for him to resign

31 May 2022, 10:58 | Updated: 31 May 2022, 13:44

Boris Johnson and John Stevenson
Boris Johnson and John Stevenson. Picture: Alamy/social media

By StephenRigley

Carlisle MP John Stevenson became the 28th to publicly call for Boris Johnson to go hours after one-time ally Andrea Leadsom accused the battered PM of "unacceptable failures of leadership."

Mr Stevenson said he has been "deeply disappointed" in the rule-breaking parties at Number 10 and Mr Johnson's response to parliament.

He said he has called for the PM to put himself forward for a vote of confidence to "draw a line" under the issue but said Mr Johnson appears unwilling to, so he has "taken the appropriate action" to get a vote of confidence to take place.

The Prime Minister faces the threat of a no confidence vote as early as next week as a growing number of MP's submit letters of no-confidence in his regime.

Mr Johnson is attempting to draw a line under the Partygate scandal following Sue Gray's report which exposed repeated examples of lockdown-busting drinking sessions in Downing Street during the pandemic.

But yesterday four Tory MP's added their names to the growing tally of Tories calling on the Prime Minister to resign and today in a letter to her constituents Ms Leadsom, a former Cabinet Minister, said she agreed with Ms Gray that report there had been "significant failures of leadership".

Read More: Boris' battle for survival as 3 Tories call for PM to quit over 'corrosive' No10 culture

Read More: 'Boris and Carrie celebrated PM’s birthday with several friends in No10 flat' Labour claim

Although she stopped short of openly calling for the premier to quit, some 27 MPs have now openly done so. Not all will have sent letters though - and others might have registered their views privately.

Ms Leadsom's intervention is one of the most significant yet, as she campaigned for Vote Leave and endorsed Mr Johnson in the 2019 leadership contest.

She wrote: “The conclusion I have drawn from the Sue Gray report is that there have been unacceptable failings of leadership that cannot be tolerated and are the responsibility of the Prime Minister.

"Each of my Conservative MP colleagues and I must now decide individually on what is the right course of action that will restore confidence in our government.”

Ms Leadsom did not call for the PM to resign, but her public expression of discontent will alarm Downing Street.

Andrea Leadsom
Andrea Leadsom. Picture: Alamy
Boris Johnson
Boris Johnson. Picture: Alamy
Carlisle MP John Stevenson
Carlisle MP John Stevenson. Picture: social media

Supporters fear yet more Conservative MPs are set to submit letters demanding a confidence vote to Sir Graham Brady, chairman of the party’s 1922 Committee.Once 54 are received, a secret ballot must be triggered.

Sir Graham Brady must call a vote of no confidence when 15 per cent of Conservative MPs ask for one - making the threshold 54.But he has broad discretion on when to announce the move and is not expected to do so when Parliament is in recess. In the past he has given Downing Street some advance notice.

Rebels are downbeat about their prospects of winning a contest even if one happens. More than half of the Tory benches would need to oppose Mr Johnson, and he still has significant support.

Under party rules, if the PM sees off the challenge he cannot face another confidence vote for a year.

Which Tory MPs have publicly called for Boris Johnson to resign?

William Wragg - MP for Hazel Grove and Vice-Chairman of the 1922 Committee

Caroline Nokes - MP Romsey and Southampton North

Tim Loughton - MP for East Worthing

David Davis - MP for Haltemprice and Howden

Andrew Mitchell - MP for Royal Sutton Coldfield

Peter Aldous - MP for Waveney

Tobias Ellwood - chairman of the defence select committee and MP for Bournemouth East

Sir Gary Streeter - MP for South West Devon

Anthony Mangnall - MP for Totnes

Aaron Bell - MP for Newcastle-under-Lyme

Sir Nick Gibb - MP for Bognor Regis and Littlehampton

Craig Whittaker - MP for Calder Valley

Nigel Mills - MP for Amber Valley

Karen Bradley - MP for Staffordshire Moorlands

Mark Harper - MP for Forest of Dean

Steve Baker - MP for Wycombe

Sir Roger Gale - MP for North Thanet

Julian Sturdy – MP for York Outer

Angela Richardson – MP for Guildford

Steve Brine – MP for Winchester

David Simmonds - MP for Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner

John Baron - MP for Basildon and Billericay

Stephen Hammond - MP for Wimbledon

Alicia Kearns - MP for Rutland and Melton

Sir Bob Neill - MP for Bromley and Chislehurst

Anne Marie Morris - MP for Newton Abbot

Jeremy Wright - MP for Kenilworth and Southam

Elliot Colburn - MP for Carshalton and Wallington

Andrew Bridgen - MP for North West Leicestershire

John Stevenson - MP for Carlisle

*The list above is those who have publicly called for Boris Johnson to resign or submitted letters of no confidence*